Bored with Facebook ?

Is the increasing usage of Facebook in the workplace a sign that the network is more and more used for career-oriented purposes or just a sign that people are also bored…with their job ?
clipped from www.smartmobs.com

Smart Mobs

Is Facebook Doomed?

Robert Scoble just wrote a post that says his Facebook usage has been going down and he asks Is Facebook doomed?

On the other hand, I did some research of my own using comScore MyMetrix and was able to see that Facebook and MySpace usage is down for home usage and at universities, but NOT AT WORKFacebook Traffic is leveling off, at other Social Networks too – are people losing interest?

But like I said over at The Analytics Guru – Usage of Facebook and MySpace is sharply UP at work! This comes from my own data pull right out of comScore:

comScore Trend Report – 1 year – usage of MySpace, Facebook, LinkedIn at WORK

So while overall usage is down – as reported in the US and UK (according to comScore) the use of Social Networks is UP, according to comScore – for use in your carrier.

  blog it

Is the increasing usage of Facebook in the workplace a sign that the network is more and more used for career-oriented purposes or just a sign that people are also bored…with their job ?

2 Responses to “Bored with Facebook ?”

  1. visionarymarketing Says:

    Thanks Jerome,
    please note that The Guardian and CNET
    http://www.news.com/8301-13577_3-9875962-36.html?tag=nefd.only
    are warning us about early signs of a shrinkage of Facebook usage at least in the UK. (5% drop in usage between December and January). Facebook retaliated with funny numbers and weird visitor topology. Guardian’s Jemina Kiss doesn’t buy into it though.
    http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/digitalcontent/2008/02/facebook_insists_uk_traffic_is.html
    Jemina is right by the way when she mentions that users are getting tired of tweaking user rights, application by application. I ended up being so tired of it that I changed my email address to point to my secondary never looked at webmail address and deinstalled most if not all the applications on my board. Phew! Now , I can get back to work without being annoyed. Almost as unbearable as Twitter and its disruptive flow of data (mind you, not information, just data).

  2. Jerome Delacroix Says:

    Following your example, I’ve just edited my FB options preventing 90% of the applications I’ve installed to contact me via e-mail.

    Still, I think FB has value for me. So I’m just continuing to use it, at least for now.

Leave a Reply

